## 20.—Twenty-third Ministry of New Brunswick, as at June 30, 1966

(Party standing at latest General Election, Apr. 22, 1983; 31 Liberal and 21 Progressive Conservative.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment		Date of Present Appointment	
Premier	Hon, Louis J. Robichaud	July	12, 1960	July	12, 1960
Attorney General	Hon. Bernard A. Jean	Apr.	6, 1966	Apr.	6, 1966
Minister of Finance and Industry	Hon. L. G. DESBRISAY	July	12, 1960	July	12, 1960
Provincial Secretary	Hon. JOSEPH E. LEBLANC	July	12, 1960	May	18, 1965
Minister of Public Works	Hon, André F. Richard	July	12, 1960	July	12, 1960
Minister of Lands and Mines	Hon. William R. Duffis	July	12, 1960	Mar.	22, 1966
Minister of Agriculture	Hon, J. Adrien Levesque	July	12, 1960	July	12, 1960
Minister of Health	Hon. Dr. GEORGES L. DUMONT	July	12, 1960	July	12, 1960
Minister of Labour	Hon. Kenneth J. Webber	July	12, 1960	July	12, 1960
Minister of Education	Hon. W. W. MELDRUM	Мау	18, 1965	Apr.	6, 1966
Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon. L. Norbert Theriault	May	18, 1965	May	18, 1965
Minister of Fisheries	Hon. R. Ernest Richard	May	28, 1963	July	8, 196
Minister of Youth and Welfare	Hon. John D. MACCALLUM	Mar.	22, 1966	Mar.	22, 1960
Chairman, New Brunawick Electric Power Commission.	Hon. H. Graham Crocker	July	12, 1960	Мау	18, 196

## Subsection 5.—Quebec

The Government of Quebec consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a bicameral legislature—the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 109; since that date the position has been held by the Hon. Onésime Gagnon, commissioned to office Feb. 14, 1958, followed by the Hon. Paul Comtois, commissioned to office Oct. 6, 1961, and the Hon. Hugues Lapointe, commissioned to office Feb. 22, 1966.

The Legislative Council has 24 members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Legislative Assembly has 108 elected members and, like the Legislative Council, has the power to bring forward Bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to the amendment or repeal of existing laws. A Bill to be approved by the Lieutenant-Governor must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a Bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The maximum life of a legislature is five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 110; the Hon. Jean Lesage became Premier in 1961 and the Hon. Daniel Johnson in 1966.

Each member of the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$10,000, plus an expense allowance of \$2,000 to each Legislative Councillor and \$6,000 to each member of the Legislative Assembly. In addition to this sessional indemnity and allowance, the Premier receives an annual indemnity of \$16,000, an expense allowance of \$4,000 and a lodging allowance of \$2,000; Ministers with Portfolio each receive an annual indemnity of \$12,000 plus a \$3,000 expense allowance; Ministers without Portfolio each receive an indemnity of \$8,000 plus a \$3,000 expense allowance; the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly receives an indemnity of \$10,000, an expense allowance of \$2,000 and a lodging allowance of \$1,000 and the Deputy Speaker receives an indemnity of \$5,000 and an expense allowance of \$1,000; the Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly receives an indemnity of \$10,000, an expense allowance of \$3,000 and a lodging allowance of \$2,000; the Leader of the Covernment and the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council each receive an additional sessional indemnity of \$2,000 plus a \$3,000 expense allowance.